Stop The Goddess Statue Funded By Your Tax Dollars!

Will you join us in contacting elected officials to oppose Bexar County spending $735,000 to build a pagan goddess statue in San Pedro Park?

HOW YOU CAN TAKE ACTION

Contact the Judge and County Commissioners of Bexar County Commissioners Court:

The Honorable Judge Nelson Wolff
Bexar County Commissioners Court
(210) 335-2626
nwolff@co.bexar.tx.us

Commissioner Sergio “Chico” Rodriguez
Bexar County, Precinct 1
(210) 335-2611
chico@bexar.org

Commissioner Paul Elizondo
Bexar County, Precinct 2
(210) 335-2612
pelizondo@bexar.org
Commissioner Kevin Wolff
Bexar County, Precinct 3
(210) 335-2618
kwolff@bexar.org

Commissioner Tommy Calvert
Bexar County, Precinct 4
(210) 335-2614
tcalvert@bexar.org

Contact the San Antonio River Authority Board of Directors:

Michael W. Lackey, P.E.
Bexar County District 3
Chairman of the Board
mwlackey@sara-tx.org

Hector R. Morales
Bexar County At-Large
Secretary
hmorales@sara-tx.org

James Fuller
Goliad County
Executive Committee Member-At-Large
jkfuller@sara-tx.org

Jim Campbell
Bexar County District 4
jcampbell@sara-tx.org

Alicia Lott Cowley
Goliad County
acowley@sara-tx.org

John J. Flieller
Wilson County
jflieller@sara-tx.org
Gaylon J. Oehlke
Karnes County
Vice-Chair
goehlke@sara-tx.org

Darrell T. Brownlow, Ph.D.
Wilson County
Treasurer
dtbrownlow@sara-tx.org

Lourdes Galvan
Bexar County District 2
Executive Committee Member-At-Large
lgalvan@sara-tx.org

Jerry G. Gonzales
Bexar County District 1
jggonzales@sara-tx.org

Deb Bolner Prost
Bexar County At-Large
dbolnerprost@sara-tx.org

H.B. “Trip” Ruckman III
Karnes County
hbruckman@sara-tx.org

 

SAMPLE LETTER

To Whom it May Concern:

I am disturbed and saddened that the Bexar County Commissioners Court has agreed to use tax payer funds to commission a monument to a pagan goddess. As reported in the local media, Bexar County selected artist Jorge Rodríguez-Gerada’s proposal for the monument to be placed at San Pedro Creek, which is property under the authority of the San Antonio River Authority. While the Commissioners Court might not publicly acknowledge the monument as being religious, the artist has stated that his statue will represent the pagan goddess “Plethora.”

How can the County agree to spend $735,000 on the total cost for the project that will favor a specific religion?

Rodriguez-Gerada’s proposal states that “the sculpture is an allegorical representation of an archetypal goddess, evoking an image of ‘a maternal, providing protector who is however venerated and powerful.’” (The Rivard Report, October 28).

In July of 2015, Bexar County Commissioners Court decided to remove all Confederate statues and monuments as the court decided that they represented discrimination, slavery, and racism. How in good conscience can the court now decide that erecting a monument to a goddess is not discriminatory, anti-Islam or anti-Judeo-Christian?

The seat of Bexar County is in the City of San Antonio otherwise known as the City of Saint Anthony.  This statue will be offensive to over 66% of the inhabitants of this City of St. Anthony.

It is critical to note that the use of public funds to erect a statute of a goddess on public property is illegal and unconstitutional. It is a violation of the Establishment of Religion Clause of both the Texas Constitution and the United States Constitution. Therefore, I urge you to immediately rescind your imprudent decision and refuse to enter into this illegal contract with taxpayer dollars.

Sincerely,

Concerned Citizen

MORE INFORMATION 

Reports from the media:
Rivard Report: “County Selects Barcelona-Based Artist for San Pedro Creek Installation”
Kens5 Eyewitness News: “Commissioners approve spending almost $1.5 million for two pieces of art”
Texas Public Policy Foundation: “PRIORITIES MATTER: A ‘PLETHORA’ OF WASTE IN BEXAR COUNTY”
Watchdog.org: “Objections d’art: City, county buy two pieces for $1.735 million”

Definition of Plethora: 
pleth·o·ra
ˈpleTHərə/
noun
a large or excessive amount of (something).
“a plethora of committees and subcommittees”
synonyms: excess, overabundance, superabundance, surplus, glut, superfluity, surfeit, profusion;

MEDICINE
an excess of a bodily fluid, particularly blood.