Medicaid 1115 – City of San Antonio

ALERT: Policy vote TODAY that will hurt Teen Girls at SA City Council.

Medicaid 1115 Waiver renewal to use taxpayer funds to chemically sterilize impoverished, minority teen girls that harms these young women, sometimes irreversibly, and can act as a ChemicalAbortifacients. Majority of these teen females are minorities, most of them are Hispanic. Is this terrible policy designed to target minorities?


Agenda Item 14

Ordinance approving the San Antonio Metropolitan Health District’s continued participation in the Medicaid 1115 (a) Demonstration Waiver Program known as the “Texas Healthcare Transformation and Quality Improvement Program”; submission of intergovernmental funding transfers in an amount up to $6,725,831.34; acceptance of the submitted IGT reimbursement amount; acceptance of up to $10,000,931.51 in federal incentive payments from the Waiver Program; and, approving the submission of up to $35,000.00 for non-reimbursable IGT to the Waiver Program for monitoring and compliance for a period beginning October 1, 2021 through September 30, 2022; and, approving Memoranda of Agreement that enhance program services with no exchange of funds associated with these grant-funded projects. [Colleen M. Bridger, MPH, PhD, Assistant City Manager, Interim Director, Health]

READ FULL AGENDA HERE IN .PDF

CoSA Council will vote today on Thurs., Jan. 14, 2021 to renew this bad ordinance for the 2nd time. It was first approved under then Mayor #JulianCastro on Feb. 6, 2014.

Write your City Council Representative

Ron.Nirenberg@sanantonio.gov; Roberto.Trevino@sanantonio.gov; Jada.Andrews-Sullivan@sanantonio.gov; Rebecca.Viagran@sanantonio.gov; AdrianaRocha.Garcia@sanantonio.gov; Shirley.Gonzales@sanantonio.gov; MelissaCabello.Havrda@sanantonio.gov; Ana.Sandoval@sanantonio.gov; Manny.Pelaez@sanantonio.gov; John.Courage@sanantonio.gov; Clayton.Perry@sanantonio.gov; Council.District1@sanantonio.gov; Council.District2@sanantonio.gov; Council.District3@sanantonio.gov; Council.District4@sanantonio.gov; Council.District5@sanantonio.gov; Council.District6@sanantonio.gov; Council.District7@sanantonio.gov; Council.District8@sanantonio.gov; Council.District9@sanantonio.gov
 
Cc: Erik.Walsh@sanantonio.gov; Andrew.Segovia@sanantonio.gov; Tina.Flores@sanantonio.gov; OfficeOfTheCityClerk@sanantonio.gov; OOCC@sanantonio.gov


READ ADDITIONAL ARTICLE HERE – SENIOR HEALTH OSTEOPEROSIS

#CoSA #Medicaid1115Waiver #TeenGirls
#AdolescentHealthcareOrdinance
#DepoProvera #TheShot #BoneDensityLoss
#IrreversibleBoneDensityLoss #Osteoporosis #EarlyOnsetOfOsteoporosis
#Nexplanon #TheImplant
#HarmsTeens #HarmsWomen
#IUD #MechanicalDevice #CopperPoisoning
#ChemicalAbortions
#LARCs #LongActingReversibleContraceptives

#SAFAeducates #SAFAprotects